MG Car Club (Auckland Centre) Inc.

MINUTES OF ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING 2024

Annual General Meeting of the MG Car Club (Auckland Centre) Inc. was held on Thursday 26th September 2024 at 8.30pm at the Remuera Club

27-33 Ohinerau Street, Remuera

1. Welcome & Apologies.

President Andrew Walbran welcomed the 61 members in attendance and opened the meeting at 8.30pm

Apologies: 24 Apologies were received

i. Robin and Maureen O'Connor, Michael & Pauline McCowan, Brian & Helen Airey, Anne & Steve Jones, Ian Grant, Ernie & Sue Martin, Sharon Fisher, Cynthia Upchurch, Peter Ennis, Graeme Collett, Albert Slack, Peter & Jane Yarham, Colin Story, Knud & Kay Nielson, Paul Clark, Norm Harvey & Denis Jury.

Proposed that apologies be accepted:

Moved: Andrew Walbran Seconded: Zena Lowther **CARRIED**

Minutes Silence

President Andrew asked for a Minutes silence in memory of members who have passed away during the last year.

2. Approval of Minutes of the 2023 AGM

Proposed, That Minutes of the 2023 AGM, having been circulated, be taken as a true and correct record.

Moved: Barry Fisher Seconded: Dean Williams **CARRIED**

3. Matters Arising from the Minutes. - None.

4. Reports

The Presidents Report. Having been circulated, be taken as read.

Proposed, That the Presidents Report be accepted.

Moved: Andrew Walbran Seconded: Jennie Walbran **CARRIED**

5. Audited Financial Statements for year ended 31 May 2024

Proposed, That the audited financial statements as circulated be Adopted.

Moved: Colin Upchurch Seconded: Barry Fisher **CARRIED**

6. Election of Officers.

- a. Nominations for the following officers are correct in all respects, as prescribed by the club
- b. As there was a single nomination for each position, these officers are accordingly deemed elected.
- c. Executive Officers.
 - i. President, Derek Liefting.
 - ii. Vice President, Mark Sinclair.
 - iii. Secretary, Barry Fisher.
 - iv. Treasurer, Colin Upchurch.
 - v. Club Captain, Paul Walbran.
 - vi. Committee Members, Jeremy Nicholls, Kirsty Mitten, Nigel Robinson, Mark Blackman
 - vii. Nominations from the floor: Grant Harsenhorst & Saatyesh Bhana

7. Appointment of Auditor

Proposed that O'Meara & Co be appointed auditors for the year ending 31 May 2025 Moved: Colin Upchurch Seconded: Mark Sinclair CARRIED.

8. Appointment of Honorary Solicitor for the year ending 31 May 2025

The President Andrew Walbran acknowledged the retirement of Phillip Dreadon and gave special thanks for the exceptional support that Philip has provided over the past 30+ years of service to the club.

No nominations were received for the position so the committee will nominate a candidate when one becomes available.

9. General Business:

Items of general business from the floor.

- a. The President announced winner of Website Free Subscription prize as Graham Edge
- b. Paul Walbran, proposed that a "MGCC life membership badge" be awarded to Den William for services to the club.

Moved: Paul Walbran, Seconded: Alan Thorn Carried

10. Presentation of Committee Trophies:

- i. Heather Spurle (upcoming young talent): Awarded to James Blackman, 14 and learning to drive in his Dad's MGB in club speed events.
- ii. Cammick Trophy (most enthusiastic): Awarded to Mark Blackman, James' Dad who bought back his father's old MGB and has been to a lot of events since.
- iii. Kevin Masterson Trophy to Bryan and Helen Airey for outstanding, dedicated service to the club despite trying circumstances.
- iv. Wooden Spoon to Darryl Bretherton for testing out how well his left front guard would act as a method of slowing the car down around Hampton Downs (the answer being very effective but not repeatable).

11. Meeting Closure.

There being no further business the President Closed the Meeting at 8.58pm

Note Official Documents relating to this meeting are in the Membership area of the MGCC Website. Barry Fisher, Secretary, Tel. 0274 734 763 E. secretary@mgclub.org.nz